top of page

Liberty County

Liberty County is located in north-central Montana with Chester serving as the County Seat.  It was established in 1920. Tiber Dam is located in the south western part of the county. The Continental Divide is just 150 miles west of the community and the Sweetgrass Hills to the north rise to nearly 7000 feet.

The county has a total area of 1,458 square miles. 97% of Liberty County’s economy is supported by agriculture.  Rich soil provides nourishment for vast fields of wheat and barley, and miles of grazing for cattle both in the Sweetgrass Hills and on the plains. The average farm size in Liberty County is about 3,140 acres.

Liberty County Chamber of Commerce

Project Highlights

Liberty County Senior Center                    South Chester Water                    Wheat Sheaf Motel

Hill County

Hill County was formed February 28th, 1912 and was originally part of Chouteau County. The county has a total area of 2,897 square miles.


The communities of Hill County include Box Elder, Gildford, Kremlin, Inverness, Rocky Boy, Rudyard. The total population is just over 16,000. 

Havre Chamber of Commerce

Project Highlights

North Havre Water                    Triple Dog Brewery                   Gildford Wastewater

Chouteau County

Chouteau County is located in North Central Montana, about 100 miles south of the Canadian border. Established in 1865, it is one of the original nine counties of the Montana Territory. It was named in 1882 for Auguste & Pierre Chouteau. Fort Benton, the county seat, was once an important port on the Missouri River.  Fur traders, gold seekers, and settlers came via steamboats to Fort Benton.  Today, Fort Benton, Big Sandy & Geraldine are the population centers with smaller communities in Loma, Carter, Floweree, Highwood, Shonkin, and Square Butte.

Chouteau County is 3,936 square miles and has a population of 5,738. It is home to the Chippewa-Cree tribe on the Rocky Boys Indian reservation in the Bear's Paw Mountains to the northeast, and contains part of the Lewis and Clark National Forest in the Highwood Mountains to the south. The terrain is primarily gently rolling plains that are dissected in the central portion by the eastward flowing Missouri River.  The land is a complex of uplands, valleys, coulees, and broad plains.

Fort Benton Chamber of Commerce

Project Highlights

North Havre Water                    Triple Dog Brewery                   Gildford Wastewater

Blaine County

Blaine County is located in north-central Montana, and has a land area of about 2,730,880 acres or 4,267 square miles. Blaine County is bounded by Hill County and Chouteau County on the west, Phillips County on the east, Fergus County on the south and the province of Saskatchewan, Canada on the North.

Chinook is the county seat and incorporated towns include Chinook and Harlem. The Missouri River forms the southern boundary. The Fort Belknap Indian Reservation consisting of the Gros Ventre and Assiniboine Tribes, occupies an area within the southwestern portion of Blaine County.

Elevations in Blaine County, Montana range from about 2,300 feet above mean sea level along the Milk River to about 6,000 feet in the Little Rocky Mountains in the extreme southeastern portion. The Bears Paw Mountains make up the southwestern portion of the county. Extending from the east to the west, the Milk River runs through the north-central section.

bottom of page